A Tree by the Sea

I received a phone call the other day from a recent transplant to the area. He had built a house on the water and wanted some metal work for the outside of the house.

We talked about the design and location and came up with a simple tree which was to be mounted on the exterior of the fireplace brickwork.

I laid the design out in chalk on work table and started cutting the round stock.

img_2388

After each piece was cut and shaped, I carefully placed it on the drawing. Not thinking that they would never stay in place when I started welding.

tree

I got them all connected and the welds cleaned up, so it was ready to be powder coated.

img_0702aimg_0703a

 

The mounting was simple because I had added L brackets to the tree which slid into eye bolts anchored in the brick. If there is ever a need to do touchup work on the finish (I did say they lived on the water didn’t I) all they need to do is lift the tree off the eye bolts and do the work.

I think it turned out great and I was proud of the new owners reaction.

Let me know what you think;

Send me your thoughts at steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com

Or just use the form below.

shirt front s

3 Comments

  1. Actually looks like a shadow of a tree. Very simple but amazing.

  2. yep, when yo can see salt water from the house… you better be prepared for it, or it will rock your world.

  3. nice design, but I like the mechanical aspect of the project. thinking past the installation into the future. excellent


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

