The Other Kind of Osprey

Being that I live in a Marine town (and there are a number of helicopter units stationed here) I have seen a lot of ospreys.

Not the bird, but the tiltrotor V22 Osprey.

I have made a number of osprey wall sculptures as gifts for Marines. But this time it was different.

The owner of a local restaurant, The Osprey Grill,  wanted a large sculpture for the wall in his reception area. I was thrilled to do “the other osprey” and set out to see just what one should look like on the wall.

I looked all over the internet for photos and different flight positions.  I wanted something that would look good and fit into the space available.

I finally settled on the talons down wings up design.

jeffs-osprey

The copper and black contrast was interesting and after two other paint jobs I knew I has found the best finish.

Well, I hung it this week and I think it turned out great. I am proud to have it in a great restaurant where it can be enjoyed by his patrons.

So go by The Osprey Grill and have a great dinner… and look for the Osprey on your way in.

 

I would love to hear your comments;

You can click on the box below,

or send me an email at steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com

shirt front s

2 Comments

  1. Looks great!

    Like

  2. Most excellent !!! very different from your other Marine inspired work.

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

