Amazing Sundial

I found this sun dial on our trip to the UK this summer.

It was about 15 feet up on a building… but then I am always looking up to see the stonework on the buildings…,

When it first caught my eye, I thought it was a great stone carving and it was… Moses and the Ten Commandments,  the gold sun and the Latin reference to God …but as I checked it out, I noticed that the (real) sun would move around the corner of the building as the day progressed.

There needed to be a second sundial on the other side of the corner to continue the clock. The second one was restructured to be accurate in the afternoon.

sundial s

Amazing!

 

It’s the little things that make art so much fun!

But, as you know, you have to stop and look around to find it.

 

I would love to hear your comments. You can use the form below,

or email me at steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com

 

 

 

.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

