Steel Dogwood

I have been busy making the final pieces for my one man show in September so there has not been much time for blogging.  But I thought I would show the table top I have been working on this week.

It is a live edge piece from the vintage wood we collected from the bottom of the creek.  It is over 250 years old and is totally beautiful!

Here is the piece when I started.

board 1 s

 

It was checking right down the center.  (Checking is the word the woodworkers use for cracking/ splitting.  I don’t know why they don’t call it cracking…but who knows why those guys do things).

I doweled the whole thing in a couple of places for support and filled the crack with epoxy for visual emphasis.  It was not as messy as the last time and it turned out great.  The black line in the center and a number of other cracks is interesting to the eye.

I took the angle grinder and smoothed over the sides, but kept the feel of the live edge wood.  I preserved the area worn by 100 years in the creek. It will be the front of the table and an important aspect of the design.

grinding s

 It turned out nice.  Now a lot of sanding and finishing and it will be ready.

almost done s

 

The base of the table is a branch of a dogwood tree.  The thicker section was made by welding different size pipe together to make the right taper.  I then cut the pipe so that it could bend and curve in a more natural fashion.  Then all the cuts had to be welded back together…and ground sooth with the angle grinder. Not a fun thing to do for about an hour. Here is what it looked like before the welding and grinding…

branch start s

With the addition of other pieces, the base is coming along pretty well, and will look something like this…

mock up s

Let me know what you think of it so far.

 

Tomorrow, the leaf clusters and 5 flowers… but seeing that will have to wait for another day.

Or just come to the show opening and see it in its finished state.

The show runs Sept 8 through 28, at the Council for the Arts in Jacksonville, NC.

 

You can comment in the box below or you can email me directly at steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com.

 

.

8 Comments

  1. This is so nice Steve. I’m attending a metal workshop in Austin in a few weeks and will create a piece for a fundraiser. Hope it’s 1/3 as good as your work! Thanks for the inspiration! MA

    Like

  2. Steve,
    The art you create is truly amazing; wish I was in US to see it. Each time I have seen most of your work I marvel at how you make metal into art.
    May God continue to bless you!

    Like

  3. Stephen,

    Like Jan, I also like it when you incorporate wood and metal. The last picture is on the small side and hard to see, but it looks very promising. I like it much more than the wood slab tables with simple square tube bases. I hope you will post more pictures of the table when it’s complete.

    Chris

    Like

    • I sure will post photos Chris. I worked on it all day today and have most of the leaves and flowers in place. Now off to the sandblaster, and a meeting with the metal stain.

      Like

  4. I love it when you put wood with your metal work.

    Like

    • Me too. I am a metalworker, but I just love beautiful wood. It seems so classical, and its beauty comes from natural form…that is the best.

      Like

  5. Steve – that is so great even without the additional pieces you’ll put on. The basic lines are so elegant. Thanks for sharing your process.
    MA

    Like

    • Thanks MaryAnn, doing all that grinding and rough work is a lot of work! the fun part is making the leaves look natural and adding the flowers. And I get to do that next!

      Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

