Handmade Cherry Wood Bowl (H is for Handmade)

I found beauty at the farmers market. Yes the place where you buy tomatoes and potatoes, carrots and corn.

Yep,   THAT farmers market.

We were walking around looking at the flowers and fruits when I noticed an elderly man selling turned wood pieces.

His name was Herald Jones.

I do not know Mr. Jones but I stopped to talk to him because he made beautiful art.

The simplicity was beautiful. I ended up buying a bowl made of cherry.

It was turned lengthwise on the log….now to those of you who are not up on wood turning….bowls are more traditionally sideways on the log to make interesting cross grained oval shaped bowls.

But this was a smooth glossy cherry bowl.

And it was beautiful…I bought it!

cherry bowl

It’s only 6 inches tall and lives its life on a piano where it holds keys… not the most glamorous life.

But it is beautiful. And that is what I am looking for every day.

Let me know what you saw today that was beautiful. It’s all around you, just look.

You can contact me at Steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com

Or just use the form at the bottom of the post.

See ya tomorrow.

.

3 Comments

  1. I saw beautiful azaleas in bloom in Raleigh. It’s a beautiful city and even more so when everything is blooming. Something else that I saw there today was the wonderful way the staff at Duke Raleigh Hospital treated their patients. It was a beautiful thing to behold.

  2. My uncle made things like this before he died. We all got pieces at the visitation, which was great.

    I take it that’s a picture of the craftsman, and not you? I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work.

    • no PCynthia, that is me in blog header photo. The craftsman making this bowl was much older than that…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

