The Asheville Skyline

The city of Asheville, North Carolina is one of my favorite places.

As they say “altitude affects attitude”.

Now I know those of you in the western mountains do not think 2500 feet is altitude.  But to those of us at sea level, it is nose bleed high. So it was great when I received a call to create a piece of artwork for an office in Asheville.  The office has a tradition where each of its retiring supervisors selects a piece of artwork for the office as a going away gift.  It is a great way to be remembered and some nice things have been added to the office.

I was called with my favorite comment…“I don’t know what I want, can you think up something interesting”.  My answer to that is always,  “yes I can”.

So I was off.  I was excited, but I needed to come up with something interesting and special.  I have seen, and photographed, the skyline and mountain tops around Asheville from a number of different angles and locations.  The SmokyMountains get their name from the way the fog sits in the valleys and make the mountains appear muted and smoky.  That is where I decided to start with the design.    The unique 1920s architecture of the city has a definite feel with many recognizable buildings.  So the skyline was a winner in the design phase.  I found just the right angle representing Asheville in its overview. The view had all the major buildings represented as well as the long range mountain views going all the way to MountPisgah.

I would give each layer of the landscape a different layer in the sculpture, and then mount them all together.  The end result would be a 3D piece depicting the view of Asheville.  So, the design was set.

I started to make the separations, drawing the layers as I saw them on the landscape and watching the interchange of the buildings, trees, bushes, and the mountains.

The pieces were cut on the laser for a perfect fit of all the parts and support structures.

photo 1small

I determined where the attachment pieces would go and welded them into place.

And this is what holds it all together.

Each piece was degreased and washed in prep for the painting.

warming in the sun after their bath.

Making the paint look like the fog and clouds was a fun process and ended in a successful rendition of the “Smokey”.

edged out 2 small

I added the last layer with sunset colors, and it was ready to go.

edged out small

I think I will try to find a reason to hand deliver the piece…

instead of shipping it…

just a thought…

Let me know what you think.

 

You can email me at steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com or use the form below.

 

.

1 Comment

  1. Unquestionably believe that that you said. Your favorite reason seemed
    to be on the net the easiest thing to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while other people consider concerns
    that they just do not recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly
    as defined out the whole thing with no need side effect ,
    other folks can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more.
    Thank you

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

