The ACL

Aug 27

I have been down for the last week.  Not depressed or anything….literally down. 

Had my ACL reconstructed after an accident. 

Now I would like to say that I messed it up in a mountain climbing accident, but I cannot.  I even tried to have my doctor list it cause of the injury mountain climbing, but I guess there is some rule about being truthful with medical records.  Anyway, my medical report says fell off a ladder.  Yes, I was on the roof cleaning gutters and slipped on the ladder as I was finishing up. 

Thought I had only “sprained” it or something, but the MRI had a different opinion. 

 Well, got it rebuilt last week and am in rehab now.  It’s not too bad, but it will take time and that is where the problems lie.  I am not able to do a lot of the things I like to do and working in the studio is one of the things I like to do.  It must be obvious to others that I want to be out there making something. 

For example, a couple days ago, my wife drove me to the studio to pick up some bubble wrap for a package.  As we went in I asked her what she thought of the latest project as it sat unfinished on the shop floor.  She gave me her opinion and then looked at me and said, “you miss it don’t you?”  It had not been a week and she could already see it.  Now, my wife is a great woman and knows me better than anyone else.  But did it show after less than a week?    

Yes, I love designing and making things. I get such a thrill when something comes out right and I can say I did it. 

But isn’t that is what it’s all about?

Doing something you love. 

I think so.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

