Quickbooks

QuickBooks

 2-10

This is the third year in a row where I have decided to start using QuickBooks as my accounting program.  And this year I just may stick with it.  But then again…

 I really WANT to be more organized with my record keeping but there is one major problem.  I started the first time because I wanted to track how long I spent on each project.  All the books say you need to know how long it takes to complete a project, so you can charge the correct price. 

 And thus the problem,

 Do I really want to know how long it takes to complete each project? 

 Keeping up with how long it takes makes me want to work faster.

 If I am tracking my time on a design I like, it makes me think of moving faster and faster.  That removes some of the joy of the craft, and when you rush through things you may end up with a product that no one wants to have in their home.

 I may succeed with the QuickBooks this year, but it will not keep me from working at my own pace and enjoying the process of crafting something special.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

