The Edging Stones are Growing

As many of you may know, a while back I started working on some edging stones for my backyard.

 

Now my backyard has a lot of flower beds and while thinking about the stones, I realized this was going to take a while. I have tried to make one a day for the past month or so…I have ended up with 12 so far.

 

But that is not so bad because they’re about 16 inches wide and they are first going to be placed around the most important flowerbeds “The most visible ones”. Then when you look out at the garden, you will see the stones and not notice the old brick edging. Then as I get more and more I’ll continue on with the areas not seen as much.

 

Well I brought home the first 12, and laid him in the backyard to let them cure even more (it really need about 30 days to make the concrete totally hard).

stone 2

I have taken some iron oxide (which is in item which you can buy at the lawn and garden stores) and started the ageing process. Iron oxide is used to raise the iron level in your soil, but it’s also will permanently stain concrete rust red.

 

But the idea of having a rust red concrete blocks in my yard is not what I’m looking for… I am just looking for some sort of accent for the details in the stones.

I’d like to eventually cover them with moss, or something of that nature, to make them look old, but the goal right now is to make the design stand out.

 

The thing about iron oxide is that whatever that dust touches, the concrete is going to turn red.

stone1

So you have to be very careful with it. What I do is I take little bit in my fingers and sprinkle it on to the spot I need the color, then take a small spray bottle and spray water on that spot to activate the iron oxide i.e. start rusting the concrete.

stone 3

I’ve done all 12 of them because the first trial version went pretty well.

I hope it works out well and we’ll see as the days go by as it rust and becomes more permanent.

 

I will fill you in later as it happens.

 

As always, I am open to your ideas, comments or suggestions.

Contact me at the email address steve@stephenzmetaldesigns.com

Or use the form below

 

2 Comments

  1. Hey Stephen,
    Those are looking really great.

  2. They look great. Love the contrast of color.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers